Care Certificate - Standards
Home > Courses on offer > Occupational Training > Care Certificate – Standards

Care Certificate - Standards


The Care Certificate was developed jointly by the following organisations:

Skills for Care, Health Education England and Skills for Health.

The Care Certificate is an agreed set of standards that define the knowledge, skills and behaviour expected of specific job roles in the health and social care sectors. It's made up of the 15 minimum standards that should be covered if you are 'new to care' and should form part of a robust induction programme.

The 15 standards are as follows:

  • Understand your role
  • Your personal development
  • Duty of care
  • Equality and diversity
  • Work in a person centred way
  • Communication
  • Privacy and dignity
  • Fluids and nutrition
  • Awareness of mental health, dementia and learning disabilities
  • Safeguarding Adults
  • Safeguarding Children
  • Basic Life Support
  • Health and Safety
  • Handling information
  • Infection prevention and control

As a registered occupational trainer, I can help you with the induction of those who are 'new to care' and support employment as part of an organisational induction programme.

How does the Code of Conduct ‘fit’ with the Care Certificate? The Code of Conduct describes how you should behave. The Care Certificate describes the minimum things you must know and be able to do. Using the Code of Conduct with the Care Certificate is a measurable way for you and your employer to check that you are working to the same standard as other people in similar roles across health and social care sectors.